The ‘Queen of the Pit Lane’ revealed nine winning companies and two winning individuals in the 11 categories of the awards, which celebrated its 35th anniversary this year.

In the Air Cargo Services category, which was sponsored by IAG Cargo, deugro (UK) Ltd triumphed over fellow finalists cargo-partner Ltd, Hogg Global Logistics Ltd, and Killick Martin & Company Ltd.

Winner of the Ocean Services Award, sponsored by Port Express, was Woodland Global, which overcame strong challenges from fellow finalists F.S. Mackenzie Ltd, Hemisphere Freight Services Ltd, and World Cargo Logistics Ltd.

Hemisphere Freight Services took first place in the Project Forwarding category, sponsored by Macbeth Insurance Brokers, ahead of fellow finalists Brunel Shipping & Liner Services Ltd, Peters & May Limited, and Ucargo LLP, which was highly commended by the judges.

In the Specialist Services category, sponsored by Thyme IT, the winner was Seafast Logistics Ltd, whilst the other finalists included Cardinal Global Logistics, Metro Shipping Ltd, and Ucargo LLP.

Kerry Logistics (UK) Ltd was revealed as the winner of the Supply Chain Management category, sponsored by BoxTop Technologies, seeing off strong competition from fellow finalists Atlantic Pacific Global Logistics Ltd, Ligentia UK Ltd, Noatum Logistics UK Ltd, and Uniserve Holdings Limited.

Scooping first place in the brand new Sustainable Logistics & the Environment Award category, sponsored by American Airlines Cargo was Woodland Group Ltd, which overcame excellent entries from fellow finalists, Maersk Logistics and Services UK Ltd (which was highly commended by the judges), Metro Shipping Ltd, DHL Global Forwarding, and Geodis FF United Kingdom Ltd.

Hogg Global Logistics Ltd took the category name quite literally to win the Extra Mile Award, sponsored by Descartes, ahead of the entries from fellow finalists Cardinal Global Logistics, Cargo Overseas Limited, and Kranlee Logistics Ltd.

Victorious against fellow finalists DHL Global Forwarding, Kranlee Logistics Ltd, Uniserve Holdings Limited, and Unsworth UK, OIA Global Ltd triumphed in the Staff Development category, which was sponsored by Albacore Systems.

In the European Logistics category, which was sponsored by TT Club, the winner was Atlantic Pacific Global Logistics Ltd, with the other finalists being Baxter Freight Ltd, Brunel European Ltd, Espace Europe Ltd, and Uniserve Holdings Limited.

Winner of the Apprentice of the Year category, which was sponsored for the first time by Menzies LLP was Cameron Smith (Ligentia), who beat off strong competition from Jacob Swift (Avocet Clearance) who was highly commended by the judges; Samuel Barrett (Charles Kendall Freight); Leanne Read (Neon Freight); Kieran Elkin (Dachser); and Richard Smith (Ziegler UK).

Meanwhile, Christopher Carter from Peterson (United Kingdom) Ltd impressed the judges with his commitment to the industry to win the Young Freight Forwarder of the Year category, which is sponsored by Virgin Atlantic Cargo. Fellow finalists were Amelia Mulhern (Kuehne+Nagel); Emily Howard (Westbound Logistics); Georgia Gibson (cargo-partner), who was highly commended by the judges; Michael Shiels (DHL Global Forwarding) and Nicola Hall (Edge Worldwide Logistics).

Whilst congratulating all the companies and individuals that won each category, BIFA Director General, Steve Parker acknowledged all 29 freight forwarding companies that made the finalists shortlist in the nine service categories, as well as the 12 people who were finalists for the two individual categories.

Parker said: “Once again, BIFA was delighted with the number and range of entries received and it was great to meet in person to celebrate excellence across the freight forwarding industry, with awards that are now in their 35th year, and justifiably regarded as the most prestigious in the sector.

“I would also like to recognise the support and contribution of all the sponsors to the running of the competition this year. Representatives from the category sponsors gave their time to carry out judging and the selection of winners for each award.”